An Introduction

Well, hello there. I suppose a short introduction is in order. My name is Taylor. I’m 26 years old and reside in Dallas, Texas.

IMG_0669

That’s me! (photos by Brandy Barham)

My copilot is my terrier mix, Professor Pomona Sprout; Sprout for every day use.

IMG_0610

That’s my girl

So why am I here? Good question. I was laid off from my job last week when the company went out of business. I knew there were financial troubles so it wasn’t entirely unexpected, but I spent two years working there and was left without severance. My accrued PTO was lost and I don’t have health insurance for the first time in my life.

I have a long history of depression and anxiety. All of this uncertainty is unsettling for me. My medications aren’t cheap. Therapy isn’t cheap. Nothing in the healthcare system is affordable, particularly for those coping with mental illness.

So my life has been shaken up a bit. It’s uncomfortable, but I think it might be a good thing. I’m going to write about my life going forward. I’m not sure if it will even be interesting, but one can hope. Let’s see what tentative adventures await.

IMG_0620

Just a girl and her dog.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s